My Writing Process

I’m always looking for something different to get into so I decided to hop into something new.  I was invited to participate in the #MyWritingProcess blog tour by fellow author Barbara Winkes.

Every author answers the same four questions about her or his writing process and then tags someone else to continue the blog tour.

Here’s what I had to say:

 

1)  What am I working on?

I am re-working a completed work called Hunted to get it ready for editing.  It is going to be the second in what may end up being four books about an ancient sisterhood of vampire hunters and their leader.  The first book, Ascension, is awaiting publication which I hope will happen in the next few weeks as I am publishing it myself (I’m working out the cover details).  The story follows Rachel Cross from scared orphan to bad ass vampire hunter to leader of the Guardianship, a sisterhood established by the Celtic goddess of war, the Morrigan.  Along the way, she battles raging Rogues, a rival group of vampire hunters, ruthless vampires and finds first love- with the enemy.

Hunted’s story line is a darker one, where Rachel and the other Guardians are being hunted by Ariana Luciaro, a psychotic vampire with a fondness for torture and pain.  She also has it in her twisted brain to resurrect a powerful Master vampire, her Master, using the blood of Innocents, the hearts of Guardians and Rachel’s soul.  I’m aiming for a late fall release on Hunted.

2)  How does my work differ from others in the same genre?

I spent eight years as a sports writer for two major daily newspapers in New Jersey.  I had to ration my words and make them count while conveying what I was seeing as accurately and vividly as possible.  At the same time, I was going to school for my undergraduate in English and creative writing so the two disciplines kind of balanced/shaped each other.  I like fast, quick story telling because I’ve generally got the attention span of an irate toddler.  Not having to count my words is so freeing but I still tend to use minimal description.

I’m also a fan of bending rules when it comes to storytelling and narrative style.  I don’t believe that all stories are linear in nature or should be told from only one point of view so why should they be written that way?

3)  Why do I write ?

I write for a few different reasons.

A) I’m afraid of the dark (stupid vivid imagination) and a little bit of an adrenaline junkie.  I have been since I was a young kid.  The first ‘horror movie’ I saw was Blackula when I was about six.  I slept with the covers pulled up to my neck for the next 10 years of my life because I was afraid Blackula was going to come out of the attic and bite me.  I like things that scare me for the adrenaline jolt it gives me so why not provide it for someone else?  I can’t be the only one.  Plus, the things my brain conjures up when I’m lying in bed and can’t sleep are too good to pass up.

B) I’m fascinated by darkness vs. light and how people hold up to adversity.  The characters that build in my mind are strong ones and they’ve all got stories to tell.

C) When I was younger, I was the one who always had her nose buried in a book.  I was an outcast without many friends so I lost myself in someone else’s world.  Now, I have the ability to create worlds and stories for others to become lost in.  It’s a way of giving back and providing an escape from life.

D) Back to my formative years, I was told by teachers and peers alike that I would never succeed in writing.  Being a professional writer was a pipe dream and it would never happen.  I don’t like hearing ‘no’ or ‘you can’t’ or ‘it’ll never happen’.  I abhor it.  I’m the stubborn type that will do my best to prove you wrong.  So far, it’s been a whole lot of fun saying, ‘yes, I can do this and yes, I WILL do this.’

4) How does my writing process work?

Scenes and characters pop into my head.  Sometimes it’s a dream, sometimes it’s something I see in every day life that sparks something else.  It’s hard to describe or pinpoint but eventually, after I’ve worked it over and over in my head, it gets typed up.  From there, I work it through, see what the natural progression would be and just go with it.  I let the characters dictate the story and how it should go.

Authors I’m tagging:

Barbara Winkes: http://barbarawinkes.blogspot.ca/2014/06/my-writing-process.html

Melissa Grace: http://inthebardroom.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

